Genealogy: Records & Resources

Amateur genealogy groups are a great place to meet others with an interest in family history. These groups meet regularly to present and share information on a variety of topics. There are also thousands of genealogy groups on social media  from all over the world that can be extremely useful to your research. Here's a link to a list of genealogy groups on Facebook.

Listed below are some Massachusetts genealogy groups, most of which meet regularly:

Polish Genealogical Society of Massachusetts
P.O. Box 835
Chicopee, MA 01014
The society maintains a research library at the Polish Center of Discovery and Learning in Chicopee, MA, 

Cape Cod Genealogical Society 
Dennis Public Library
5 Hall Avenue
Dennisport, MA 02639
The society maintains a research library with limited opening hours, more information available here.

Essex Society of Genealogists
Lynnfield Public Library
18 Summer Street
Lynnnfield, MA 01940
The Essex Society of Genealogists, Inc. (ESOG) has served Massachusetts' and New England's genealogical community with live educational presentations, genealogical projects, and publications to facilitate research in this fascinating, historical region. 
 
Central Massachusetts Genealogical Society 
P. O. Box 811
Westminster, MA 01473-0811

Falmouth Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 2107
East Falmouth, MA 02536 

Massachusetts Society of Genealogists
P.O. Box 215
Ashland MA 01721-0215
The society has chapters in Bristol County, Martha's Vineyard, Worcester County, Middlesex County, and the Merrimack Valley area. Check out their site for upcoming meetings and events. 

Western Massachusetts Genealogical Society
Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of every month from 6 to 8 p.m. at the Agawam Senior Center, located at 954 Main Street, Agawam.
 

City of Boston, Registry Division
1 City Hall Square (Boston City Hall)
Room 213
Boston, MA 02201
(617) 635-4175

The Registry Division keeps Boston birth, marriage, and death records from 1630 to the present. If you want a copy of one of these vital records, you must request a certified copy in person or by mail. Certified copies of births, marriages, and deaths are on secure paper, have the raised red seal, and appropriate signatures.

City of Boston Archives
201 Rivermoor Street
West Roxbury, MA  02132
(​617) 635-1195
Holds many tax, real estate, voting, and other records of great use to people with Boston ancestors. Monday - Friday: 9:30 AM to 4:30 PM by appointment. Please contact the office at least one day in advance to arrange an appointment. Check out a brochure here for more information.

Registry of Vital Records and Statistics
150 Mount Vernon Street, 1st floor
Dorchester, Ma. 02125-3105
(617) 740-2600
The Registry administers and issues copies of vital records that occurred in Massachusetts from 1926 to the present. RVRS also provides statistics on births, deaths, fetal deaths, divorces, and marriages. 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Archives
220 Morrissey Boulevard
Columbia Point
Boston, MA 02125
(617) 727-2816
The Archives hold births, marriages, and deaths for all Massachusetts cities and towns, 1841 through 1925. 

State Library of Massachusetts
State House (24 Beacon Street)
Room 341
Boston, 02133
(617) 727-2590
The State Library holds geographical and biographical resources including city and town directories, voting lists, tax lists, town reports, published family histories, and legislative biographies.

New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS)
99-101 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 536.5740 
NEHGS is the nation’s leading comprehensive resource for family history research and the largest Society of its kind in the world. While membership is required, it offers some free online and on-site educational opportunities for non-members, as well as limited access to some databases to non-members.

Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, New England Chapter (AAHGS-NE)
AAHGS-NE offers seminars and workshops on research techniques and methods used to access local public records, national archives and religious databases. The chapter publishes a bi-monthly Newsletter highlighting recent genealogical findings, seminars, lectures and relevant publications. In addition, surnames and geographies under investigation, as well as other reference materials, are shared amongst chapter members.

Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Boston
P.O. Box 610366
Newton, MA 02461-0366
866-611-5698 (toll free)
Offers monthly educational programs, individual help with research and a comprehensive beginners’ course. JGSGB has an extensive collection of research materials and publishes an award-winning journal, Mass-Pocha. While JGSGB is a membership organization, its website has links to several helpful resources.

American-French Genealogical Society
78 Earle Street
Woonsocket, RI  02895-3108
(401) 765-6141
A 501c3 non-profit organization devoted to people of French Canadian descent. Their mission is to collect, preserve and publish cultural, genealogical, historical and biographical matter relating to Americans of French and French Canadian descent.

The Irish Ancestral Research Association
121 Boston Post Road
Sudbury, MA 01776
A non-profit organization established to develop and promote the growth, study and exchange of ideas among people and organizations interested in Irish genealogical and historical research and education. Our monthly meetings educate and entertain our members, as well as foster interaction with other Irish researchers. TIARA does not provide individual genealogical research services.