Law and Legal Research
This guide highlights resources for finding answers to basic legal questions.
Pro Se Litigants
A pro se litigant is someone who represents themselves in court without the help of a lawyer.
-
Social Law Library
The Social Law Library provides research materials, training, continuing legal education and other services. Non-members of Social Law will not be granted access to the Library’s premises or use of its collection and resources. However, pro se litigants who demonstrate a showing of need for specific resources that are contained in the Library’s collection and that are unavailable at any Massachusetts public library will be issued Courtesy Passes.
-
Represent Yourself in Court
This book breaks the pretrial and trial process down into easy-to-understand steps. Whether you're a plaintiff or a defendant, this book will help you handle a bankruptcy, divorce, landlord-tenant dispute, breach of contract case, small business dispute--or any other civil lawsuit. -
Meister Manual: for Prisoners' Lawsuits
by
Formerly called Battling the Administration: An Inmate's Guide to a Successful Lawsuit, this new edition has been renamed, revised, and updated. It provides all the significant legal theory that pertains to prisoners" litigations, over a thousand case citations, sample pleadings and forms, and detailed directions for pursuing a lawsuit from beginning to end.
-
A Jailhouse Lawyer’s Manual
JLI believes that legal education is central to breaking the cycle of incarceration. JLI has created freely available National Legal Empowerment Modules for self-education: Legal Research, Innocence Claims, Human Rights Law, Federal Habeas Claims, Freedom of Information Act, Data Justice, Legal Writing, Re-Entry, and Restorative Justice. -
Massachusetts Law about Self-represented Litigants
A webpage from the Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries. Laws, cases, and web sources with information about and for self-represented litigants in Massachusetts.
Upcoming BPL Legal Events
Loading ...
Managing Your Case
-
Attend a Court Date Virtually via Public Libraries
The Trial Court Law Libraries' Public Library Initiative offers access to virtual court services via the comfort and convenience of your local library. Click "more" to see participating libraries. -
Massachusetts Trial Court Case Access
Use this site to pay some court fees or to look up case information. Filed motions, judge decisions, upcoming court dates, and often PDFs of filings can be found.
-
Court Service Centers
Court Service Centers can answer basic questions, help with court forms, give information about court rules, procedures, and practices, and connect you with community resources. All Court Service Centers are free to court users, but there may be other fees associated with your case, such as filing fees.
How Do I Find a Lawyer?
This page focuses on finding legal representation or advice that is appropriate for your legal situation and/or financial situation. People with low-income may have access to free legal representation, though different organizations have varying requirements for eligibility. Whatever your financial situation, finding vetted legal representation is important!
General directories, referral services, etc within Massachusetts will be noted. For help with a particular legal topic, please see "Legal Resources by Topic" in the menu on the left.
Lawyer Directories
The Massachusetts Trial Court Law Library has an entire guide on finding a lawyer.
-
Limited Assistance Representation
Typically, lawyers represent clients for a whole case. However, there is a way to get legal help just for part of a case. This is called “Limited Assistance Representation” or “LAR.” With LAR, you and a lawyer agree what parts of a case you will handle and what parts the lawyer will handle. In other words, you limit what the lawyer does. You can use LAR for any part of a case, including helping you with legal documents, arguing for you in a court event, or negotiating a settlement.
-
Martindale-Hubbell Law DirectoryMartindale-Hubbell is an American information services company to the legal profession that was founded in 1868. The Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory provides background information on lawyers and law firms in the United States and other countries.
-
FindLaw
Searchable directory listing of qualified attorneys in your area.
-
USPTO Patent Practitioner
Attorneys and agents authorized to practice in patent matters before the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).
-
Go To Lawyers from Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly
Monthly editions that focus on top attorneys in the commonwealth. Each month focuses on a different legal area.
-
Find a Lawyer
Are you looking for a lawyer to represent you in a case or give you legal advice? Or do you want to talk to a legal professional to get information or help filling out forms? These resources from Mass Legal Help can help you find someone.
-
Finding Legal Help from Mass.gov
Contact the organizations on this Mass.gov generated list to find a lawyer. Private practices, lawyer referrals, and legal representation specifically for for low-income individuals are all listed.
Lawyer Referral Services
Lawyer referral services assist you in finding the right lawyer for your legal issue.
The Massachusetts Trial Court Law Library has an entire guide on finding a lawyer. View the Find a Lawyer guide here.
-
Massachusetts Legal Resource Finder
A list of lawyer referral services in Massachusetts. Toggle between tabs to see Legal Service Providers. En Español y Ingles.
-
Boston Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
Boston Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service can refer you to lawyers or other resources that specialize in the area of law related to your specific situation. -
Massachusetts Bar Association Lawyer Referral ServiceReceive an instant referral to a lawyers for your legal issue, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, for any legal need. The site also includes concise information on criminal law, juvenile court, and tips on choosing a lawyer.
Legal Aid & Assistance Programs
For legal assistance on a specific subject, please see the "Resources by Topic" tab in the menu on the left.
-
Dial-A-Lawyer: Free Legal Advice by Phone
The Massachusetts Bar Association sponsors a monthly Dial-A-Lawyer program and encourages members of the public to call our hotline for free legal advice. Dial-A-Lawyer attorney volunteers are in good standing and have a wide variety of legal experience. Attorneys are available to answer questions on a variety of topics, including family law, bankruptcy, real estate, labor and consumer rights and more. -
Find a LawyerAre you looking for a lawyer to represent you in a case or give you legal advice? Or do you want to talk to a legal professional to get information or help filling out forms? These resources from Mass Legal Help can help you find someone. -
Finding Legal Help from Mass.govContact the organizations on this Mass.gov generated list to find a lawyer. Private practices, lawyer referrals, and legal representation specifically for for low-income individuals are all listed. -
Greater Boston Legal ServicesGet Legal Help | Recibe Ayuda Legal | Tôi Cần GIÚP VỀ PHÁP LÝ | 獲取法律援助 | Jwenn èd Legal | ASL
At Greater Boston Legal Services (GBLS), our team of 70+ attorneys and 20+ paralegals provide free civil (non-criminal) legal assistance to low-income individuals and families in and around Boston. -
Lawyer for the Day ProgramsA government funded legal assistance program including volunteer lawyers at some courthouses. Lawyer for the Day programs provide basic legal advice, help you understand relevant laws and your rights, and assist you in filling out court forms. They do not go with you into the courtroom, but can equip you to better represent yourself in court. -
Massachusetts Access to Counsel InitiativeMACI is a joint effort between MIRA Coalition, CPCS, and a statewide network of legal organizations. Together, they are building a centralized intake and referral system for individuals in Massachusetts facing Immigration Court proceedings. Through a single intake line, detained and non-detained individuals from Massachusetts will be able to request help and be connected with an available legal service provider for potential representation. Individuals can call the intake line and complete an intake. This will take about 15-30 minutes depending on the situation. -
Regional Legal Aid ServicesYou may be eligible for free legal help in Massachusetts through civil legal aid organizations if your annual income is at or below 125% of the federal poverty level. That is currently $37,500 per year for a family of four and $18,255 for an individual. There are different criteria for older adults and crime victims.
-
Volunteer Lawyers Project
Services have been established by clearly identifying unmet legal needs in the community. They provide a range of crucial civil legal assistance; from information and advice, to referrals and court clinics, to full representation in trials and appeals. Programs & Services: Bankruptcy, Civil Appeals, Consumer, DotHouse, Unemployment, Family Law & Guardianship, Housing, Wage and Hour, and Wills. -
Massachusetts Free Legal AnswersMFLA is a virtual legal advice clinic in which qualifying users post civil legal questions at no cost to be answered by pro bono attorneys licensed in their state. Question topics include: Family, Divorce, Custody, Housing, Eviction, Homelessness, Consumer Rights, Financial, Work, Employment, Unemployment, Health and Disability, Civil Rights, Income Maintenance, Juvenile and Education Law. MFLA is a project from the American Bar Association.
-
Civil Legal Aid for Victims of Crime
CLAVC legal aid programs offer a wide variety of free civil legal services to victims of crime. Services can include housing, public benefits, family law, immigration, consumer law, health law, disability law, education, employment issues, elder law, veterans rights and much more. Contact the program directly by calling or applying for help online. CLAVC lawyers are based in six regional legal aid offices throughout the state, as well as three state ide legal aid programs.
-
Court Service Centers
Court Service Centers provide legal information on limited types of cases. For example, CSC's are only available to help unrepresented parties or people who do not have a lawyer representing them.
-
Legal Services Center of Harvard Law School
A community-based clinical law program that provides essential civil legal services to low- and moderate-income residents of Greater Boston. They specialize on these legal areas: Estate planning, family justice, tax litigation, housing law, LGBTQ+ advocacy, consumer protection, disability litigation & benefits, and veterans law.
