Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reader's Corner - Mystery: Awards

Welcome to the Boston Public Library's Reader's Corner for mystery lovers. Find out whodunit at the Library!

Recent Award Winners

Mystery Book Awards

Agatha Awards

The Agatha Awards honor the traditional mystery--books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie--and are awarded annually by Malice Domestic, Ltd.

Anthony Awards

The Anthony Awards are given at each annual Bouchercon World Mystery Convention with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher, well-known writer and critic from The New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.

Dagger Awards

The Crime Writers' Association awards the Daggers. Only British publishers can submit entries for the Dagger Awards and the submissions must have been published in the English language in the United Kingdom within a limited period of time. The number of awards, as well as their names, have varied over the years.

Edgar Awards

Mystery Writers of America give these awards to honor the best in mystery fiction and nonfiction produced the previous year. The awards began in 1946 and are named in honor of Edgar Allan Poe.

Hammett Prize

The Hammett Prize is given annually by the North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers to honor literary excellence in the field of crime-writing (fiction or nonfiction), as reflected in a book published in the English language in the US and/or Canada.

Left Coast Crime "Lefty" Awards

Two Lefty Awards are given at each annual Left Coast Crime Convention: Best Humorous Mystery and Best Historical Mystery. Two other Lefty Awards are Best LCC Regional (for best mystery set within the LCC region) and Best Novel (for best mystery set anywhere in the world). Lefty Awards are voted on by Left Coast Crime attendees.

Macavity Awards

The Macavity Award is named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries.

Ned Kelly Awards

The Ned Kelly Awards (named for a notorious Australian outlaw of the 19th century) are presented by the Australian Crime Writers' Association (ACWA) to promote greater recognition for crime, thriller and mystery writing in Australia.

Nero Awards

The Nero Award is presented annually by The Wolfe Pack for the best American Mystery written in the tradition of Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe stories. The Black Orchid Novella Award is presented annually by The Wolfe Pack in cooperation with Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine for the best novella written in the tradition of Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe novellas.

Shamus Awards

The Shamus Award is given annually by the Private Eye Writers of America to honor excellent work in the Private Eye genre. Committee members of PWA select the winners.

Thriller Awards

The Thriller Awards are presented by the International Thriller Writers at the annual ThrillerFest conference.