Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Images and Other Visual Resources: Medicine

There are more ways to find interesting and useful images than Flickr and Google Image search. Learn how and where!

Features

Arzneibuch, Germany, ca. 1675.  A monk performs an eye operation

Medical Image Resources

University of Minnesota collection of social hygiene posters from 1910-1970; search by year, topic, or browse by categories including family health, mental health, women, and more
 
National Library of Medicine's image collection contains high resolution cryosectional (cross-sections and/or slices) color images of the human anatomy
 
Browseable collection of over 1,000 endoscopic images; categories include esophagus, stomach, colon, and more
 
Michigan State University online atlases of the brains of humans, sheep, dolphins, and more.
 
Online collection of Genome Sciences images from the Department of Energy Human Genome Project; search by topic or browse by categories including Human Chromosome Gallery, Basic Genomics, and more
 
Part of the Harvard Open Collections Project (OCP), this collection provides general background information on diseases and epidemics worldwide
Women Working 1800-1930 | Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics | Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
 
Online atlas of the human brain from Harvard Medicine; browse for a variety of images by normal brain or brain disease type.
 
Over 50,000 high-quality medical images from the renowned medical books on MD Consult.Images include photos, tables, graphs, and more. Choose Images from the search drop-down menu.
 
The NLM's digital repository to provide access to and preservation of digital content not covered by PubMedCentral and the NIH CIT Videocast project.
 
Contains images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented by manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs from the New York Public Library.
 
Photography, prints and graphic art from the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
 
Includes over 40, 000 contemporary and historical medical images from UK teaching hospitals and research institutes.
 
Compiled by Ian McDermott, Assistant Librarian at the Yale Center for British Art