Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Images and Other Visual Resources: Maps

There are more ways to find interesting and useful images than Flickr and Google Image search. Learn how and where!

Features

The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress.

 


The David Rumsey Collection contains over 20,000 maps available online and focuses on 18th and 19th century rare North and South American maps. There are also historic maps of the World, Africa, Asia, and Europe.

Maps Image Resources

The collections below are freely available web resources.
This collection contains over 20,000 maps available online and focuses on 18th and 19th century rare North and South American maps. There are also historic maps of the World, Africa, Asia, and Europe.
 
This is a general collection of over 250,000 maps from around the world.  Currently about 11,000 are available online. 

Containing only a fraction of what the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division holds, this digital library of maps focuses on cartographic treasures and Americana.
 
Over 800 historic maps from the 16th through 20th centuries.
 
This link brings you to a Browse by Object view for the IMLS funded digital collection projects.  Under Image, you will find a link for Maps which lists more than 20 digital collections containing historical maps.
 
The Bell collection focuses on international trade from 400 CE to 1825 CE and contains many historical maps in addition to pamphlets, manuscripts, and broadsides.
 
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people,government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."
 

Maps and Atlases at the BPL

The Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library

Its mission is to use the collection of 200,000 maps and 5,000 atlases for the enjoyment and education of all through exhibitions, educational programs, and a website that includes more than 3,700 digitized maps at maps.bpl.org

 

Research Services Department

The Research Services Department holds the major part of the Boston Public Library's holdings of microfilm, microfiche, and microprint. The Department's holdings include roughly 163,000 rolls of microfilm, 2.5 million microfiche, and 6,345 boxes of microprint.

The Department's holdings are based on format. The subject areas covered by the Department overlap the coverage of other departments. The Department's holdings complement and supplement the holdings of the subject-based departments.

Among the Department's holdings are:

  • biographical dictionaries
  • business and trade directories
  • census population schedules for New England
  • ERIC
  • genealogy and local history
  • immigration passenger lists
  • newspapers, with a concentration on Massachusetts newspapers
  • presidential papers
  • regimental histories of the American Civil War
  • retrospective collections of American, British and Canadian publications
  • Sanborn Fire Insurance Atlases
  • United States city directories
  • compiled collections of: