Other Digital Image Resources: Japanese Studies
Database of 6,000 images taken in the second half of the nineteenth century. Searchable by photographer, location, or keyword (categories for keyword include: View, Architecture, Urban facilities, Traffic, Person, Religious Faith, Work, Manners and Customs).
Brown University Library, Center for Digital Initiatives
Images from the John Hay Library of an anonymous Japanese scroll depicting Perry’s arrival in Japan; lithographs by William Heine, official artist of the Perry expedition, and published in 1855; and images published in Japanese broadsides.
Images documenting the aftermath of the Great Kantō Earthquake taken by the American traveler, William Dana Reynolds and others. Collection includes photographs taken in Yokohama, Kyōtō, Shanghai and Hawaii, as well as letters, newspaper clippings, and other family mementoes.
Cultural Heritage Online is a portal site created by the Agency for Cultural Affairs that allows users to view images and associated data of art works from museum and temple collections across Japan, in addition to architectural sites, material folk culture, traditional performing arts, historical documents, major scenic sites and protected environments, historical monuments, and images documenting the work of Living National Treasures. Users can extensively browse the collections by historical period, classification or field, geographical region, and official cultural designation. Alternatively, users may perform keyword or advanced searches that also include the title of the work, repository name, and artist name. Related images can be found by checking the box to the left top hand side of an image; and suggested keywords (appearing below the last row of images on any particular page) can again assist users navigate groups of related images. Currently, the site is only available in Japanese.
This site is dedicated to showcasing the National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties from the National Museums in Tōkyō, Nara, and Kyōto. Images can be found by browsing galleries organized according to the following categories: Japanese Painting, 11th-13th centuries; Japanese Painting, 15th-19th centuries; Chinese Painting, Song and Yuan Dynasties; Swords and Blades; Others (which includes lacquer ware, metalwork, and ceramics); Buddhist Sutras and Chinese Classics, Japanese Classics and Historical Documents; Japanese and Chinese Calligraphy; Textiles. Clicking on individual images will allow you to zoom in on selected areas. Alternatively, for images of scrolls, clicking on the Image Browser label located at the bottom of the image will enable you to see every section of the scroll and zoom in to view details.
Collection of photographs of Shōsōin artifacts searchable by keyword, type, and repository location.
Database of official documents from the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Army and Navy, dating from the Meiji period to 1945. The site also includes the following exhibitions: US-Japan War Talks, Iwakura Mission, Russo-Japanese War.
Over 1,100 maps of Japan and the World from the Mitsui collection at the East Asian Library at the University of California, Berkley; digitized by David Rumsey and Cartography Associates. Maps date from 1600 to 1913. Browsable by map type, geography, date, and cartographer.
Collection of film stills, production stills, publicity photographs, personal portraits and snapshots, photographs from film festivals, magazine articles, personal notes and scripts of film director Kurosawa Akira (1910-1998).
- Modern Educational Wallcharts 1857-1941
Subjects include language, Japanese history and geography, Oriental history and geography, Western history and geography/ World maps, geology/mineral and marine products, paleontology/ science and technology/ medicine, botanical wall charts.
- Modern Printed Teaching Wallcharts 1855-1944, Kanazawa University
Collection (subjects include wallcharts imported during the first half of the Meiji period, language, Japanese history and geography, geology/mineral products, chemistry, biology/agronomy.
- Database of Meiji Restoration Materials
Includes manuscripts, historic photographs, and paintings.
- World War Two Thai Newspaper Collection
- Emakimono and Nara Ehon Collection
- Age of Natural History (17th-19th century)
Database of images published in Mainichi Daily newspaper from Meiji period on.
Database of Nara Ehon (short illustrated manuscripts dating from the Muromachi to Edo periods) searchable by keyword, period, format, document type, type of cover, and theme.
Database of historical manuscripts, drawings, photographs and maps from the Tokugawa period on, including wartime posters.
The NDL Online Gallery features a growing number of exhibitions that showcase textual and image resources related to particular themes.
- 100th Anniversary of Japanese Immigration to Brazil
- Rare Books of the National Diet Library
The Digital Gallery for this collection is organized according to the following categories: 1. Carrying on the Classics, 2. Intellectual Exchange, 3. Variety of Ehon Books. Alternatively, you may search the NDL’s Rare Books Image Database
- Meiji and Taishō Eras in Photographs
Searchable by keyword, and map, as well as categories that include: government (municipal) office, imperial court, economy and industry, temples and shrines, education, culture and entertainment, army and navy, transportation.
- Modern Japan in Archives - 100-year History from the Opening of the Country to the San Francisco Peace Treaty
Photographs and documents related to modern Japanese political history.
- Fauna and Flora in Illustrations -Natural History of the Edo era
- Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures
- Birth of the Japanese Constitution
Browsable via the following broad categories: Scenic Mementos of Japan (Nature and Outdoor Social Scenes, Amusements, Work and Working People, Festivals, People and their appearance), Vienna International Exposition, Modern Japanese Political History Materials (by historical period, from Meiji Restoration on).
Examples of image databases created from rare book collections at the Nichibunkan Library:
- Database of Foreign Images of Japan (56,911 images)
- Database of Early Photographs (5,431 images)
- Database of Japanese Art in Foreign Collections (5,883 images)
- Miyako nenjū gyōji gajō (Picture Album of Annual Festivals in the Miyako)
- SŌDA Collection: Pictorial and Miscellaneous Materials
Images of manuscripts and prints related to the history of medicine from the personal collection of medical historian Sōda Hajime (1921-1996). 1,104 images.
- Database of illustrations of Modern Folklore (149 images)
- Emakimono (Picture Scrolls) 18 works with scrolling and zoom functionality.
Browsable by name, prefecture, historical period, and type.
Image database of posters and handbills related to Japanese labor and social movements in the pre and post-1945 periods organized according to the following exhibitions:
- Images of Japanese Labor and Social Movement in Pre-1945 Japan (1): Industrial Welfare Association Posters
- Images of Japanese Labor and Social Movement in Pre-1945 Japan (2): Election Campaign Posters
- Images of Japanese Labor and Social Movement in Pre-1945 Japan (3): Posters and Stickers of Farmers’ Movements
- Japanese Posters and Handbills in the 1930s
- Images of Japanese Labor and Social Movement in Post-1945 Japan
- Presentation of 2,700 posters of labor and social movements in pre-1945 Japan
Database of photographs, film, text, and sound, from the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum. Includes survivor video testimony, material objects, photographs browsable by map or keyword, paintings by survivors, artworks (paintings, sculpture, calligraphy) related to the atomic bomb.
The Virtual Museum of Traditional Japanese Arts is produced for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs by Kodansha International Ltd., which is responsible for the contents of the site.
Site founded by Professors John W. Dower and Shigeru Miyagawa, with contributions from other scholars (Peter C. Perdue, Allen Hockley, Gennifer Weisenfeld) as well as other institutions including the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum, Honolulu Academy of Arts, Hood Museum of Art, Dartmouth College, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Peabody Essex Museum, Ryōsenji Treasure Museum, Shiseidō Corporation, Smith College Museum of Art, and others. Essays, visual narratives, and image databases are organized according to the following units. *Units on China are in development.
- Rise & Fall of the Canton Trade System I-IV: China in the World 1700-1860s, Macau & Whampoa, Canton & Hong Kong, Image Galleries
- Black Ships & Samurai: Commodore Perry and the Opening of Japan (1853-1854)
- Yokohama Boomtown: Foreigners in Treaty-Port Japan (1859-1872)
- Felice Beato’s Japan, An Album of the Pioneer Foreign Photographer in Yokohama: People & Places
- Globetrotter’s Japan, Foreigners on the Tourist Circuit in Meiji Japan: People & Places
- Throwing off Asia I-III: Woodblock Prints of Domestic Westernization (1868-1912), Sino-Japanese War (1894-195), Russo-Japanese War (1904-1905)
- Asia Rising: Japanese Postcards of the Russo-Japanese War (1904-1905)
- Yellow Promise/ Yellow Peril: Foreign Postcards of the Russo-Japanese War (1904-1905)
- Selling Shiseidō I-III: Cosmetic Advertising & Design in Early 20th Century Japan
- Ground Zero 1945: Pictures by Atomic Bomb Survivors & A Schoolboy’s Story, Testimony of Akihiro Takahashi
Historic photographs, manuscripts, and prints etc. showcased via thematic galleries and special exhibitions shown below. Site also features keyword, advanced search, and timeline browsability.
- Japanese History through Library Collections
- Collections of Japanese Literature of the Edo Period
- Rangaku (Western Studies) Collection
- Ōkuma Shigenobu Collection
Other Digital Image Resources: Korean Studies
Comprehensive database of architectural and cultural sites, relics, documentary heritage (manuscripts, prints, books, etc.), intangible heritage (ceremonies, craft, food) and natural heritage. Database searchable by cultural heritage designation, geography, period, and key terms within genres.
Other Digital Image Resources: Silk Road Studies
Image database for artifacts (photographs, prints, manuscripts, paintings) held in British, Chinese, Finnish, French, German, Japanese, Russian, and Swedish collections. Collaborating institutions include: British Museum; British Library; Victoria and Albert Museum; Chester Beatty Library; National Library of China; Dunhuang Academy; Academia Sinica; Institute of Oriental Studies, St. Petersburg; National Museum of India, New Delhi; Ryukoku University, Kyōto; State Library, Berlin; Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities; Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Paris; Musée Guimet, Paris; National Museum of Ethnography, Stockholm; Sven Hedin Foundation, Stockholm; Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institute, Washington DC; University of California at Los Angeles; Princeton University (Gest Library and Art Museum); Morgan Library, New York.
Features historical maps, photographs, expedition records, and historical records from over 100 rare books digitized in their entirety. Authors include, among others, M. A. Stein, P. Pelliot, S. Hedin, and A. von Le Coq.
Images and text accessible via the following topic pages: museum collections of silk road art, cities and architecture, traditional culture, maps, geography, and historical texts.
Image database of 6,000 photographs of Tibet (taken ca.1920-1950) from the collections of the British Museum and Pitt Rivers Museum, Oxford University. Includes maps, and has advanced zoom and album functionality.
The following is not intended to be a comprehensive list of links to museums with collections of Japanese, Chinese, and/or Korean art; rather, it presents links specifically to museums with searchable collection databases or good quality, browsable collection interfaces.
People’s Republic of China
Republic of China (Taiwan)