Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Images and Other Visual Resources: American Visual Culture

There are more ways to find interesting and useful images than Flickr and Google Image search. Learn how and where!

Feature

Image, Source: b&w film copy neg. post-1992Photographer unidentified. [Lucy Stone, half-length portrait of a woman, seated, facing front] ninth plate daguerreotype, between 1840 and 1860.

Search daguerrotype photographs as part of the American Memory Project at the Library of Congress


Lee Krasner and Jackson Pollock
The Archives of American Art, part of the Smithsonian Institution, is dedicated to collectiong and preserving the papers, primary records and photographs documenting the history of American Art

Louis Comfort Tiffany, Vase, 1893-1896
 Images of American Art and Visual Culture
The Metropolitan Museum of Art

American Visual Culture Resources

Images, photographs, and documents on the history of American art

 

The Chicago History Museum has an impressive online catalog with many image resources.

 

The Douglas collection includes approximately 5,500 items of American political campaign memorabilia and commemorative items dating to between 1789 and 1960.

 

Digital content from the American fashion magazine from the first issue in 1867 through April, 1900

 

Web portal to the Library of Congress' vast digital collections about American history and creativity.

 

Pathfinder to more than 1 million digital images, the online catalog is one of the largest digital image databases in the world.

 

Founded in 1846, the Smithsonian is the world's largest museum and research complex, consisting of 19 museums and galleries, the National Zoological Park, and nine research facilities. This webpage provides a portal to the Smithsonian's collections, programs, and research facilities, with image resources readily available.

 

NYPL Digital Gallery offers thousands of digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Collections cover artworks and objects, creators, dance, design, furniture, motion pictures, music, ornament, performance, spectacle, theatre, advertising, book binding, dust jackets, friendship books, menus, post cards, posters, trade and greeting cards. Collections include Bernice Abbott's WPA Changing New York photographs, "Classic 6:" New York City Apartment Building Living 1880s-1910s, Metropolis: New York City Water and Transit Infrastructure in Photographs, and many more.

 

The OAC contains more than 170,000 digital images and documents from California's archives, museums, and libraries.

 

White House Photo Stream on Flickr 

This University of Pittsburh website presents the omplete double elephant folio set of Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological Biography
Winterthur, an American country estate, is the former home of Henry Francis du Pont (1880-1969), an avid antiques collector and horticulturist. In the early 20th century, H. F. du Pont and his father, Henry Algernon du Pont, designed Winterthur in the spirit of 18th- and19th-century European country houses.

 

 


Related Resources

 

Over 750,000 images of British historic architecture and objects of material culture