World War II Document Sets at the Boston Public Library: Other Sets
This guide attempts to describe some of the document sets available on microfilm and microfiche at the Boston Public Library that deal with the Second World War.
Images
- United States Documentary Posters From World War IICall Number: D743.25 .U5 1978xPublication Date: 19783 microfilm reels
Speeches
Legal cases and Hearings
- Record of Proceedings of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East ... Tokyo, Japan: The United States of America [et Al.] Against Araki, Sadao ... Tojo, Hideki [et Al.], Accused byCall Number: D804 .J32A73Publication Date: 1946-194837 microfilm reels
- Statements of Japanese Officials on World War II : English Translations Represent Over 500 Reports Submitted by 264 Japanese Officials, Including 198 Army and 51 Naval Officers, and 15 Civilians in Compliance With ...A Request From the Supreme Commander byCall Number: D735 .S83xPublication Date: 1949-19504v.
- Trials of War Criminals Before the Nuremberg Military Tribunals Under Control Council Law No. 10 :Nuremberg, October 1946- April, 1949 byCall Number: D804.G42 I6Publication Date: 1949Links to documents digitized by the Boston Public Library.
- Congressional Committee Hearings and ReportsThis link leads to the Library's Libguide on Congressional Hearings, among which are the reports digitized by the Boston Public Library on the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.
German Records
- A Catalog of Files and Microfilms of the German Foreign Ministry Archives, 1920-1945 byCall Number: REF CD1261 .A65 v.1Publication Date: 1962-19724 volumes
- The German Army High Command, 1938-1945Call Number: D757.1 .G47 1981xPublication Date: 19814 microfilm reels
- Records of the German Foreign Office, 1920-1946, received by the U.S. Dept. of State byCall Number: CD1261.R4Publication Date: 1946?-19585,046 microfilm reels
National Archives Microfilm Publications; Microcopy no. T120
Filmed at Whaddon Hall, Bucks., Eng.
[In German]
Memorial to the men and women of Boston who lost their lives in World War II (Fenway)
News
- Newspapers @ the BPLThis link leads to the LIbguide for Newspapers at the Boston Public Library.
- The Maple Leaf by Reel 1 – Italy, Jan 14, 1944-Dec 30, 1944 Reel 2 – Italy, Jan 1, 1945-Mar 17, 1945; France, Jul 27, 1944- Sept 9, 1944; Belgium, Sep 16, 1944 – Apr 30, 1945 Reel 3 – Belgium, May 1, 1945 – Sep 8, 1945; Holland, Sep 6, 1945 – Nov 10, 1945 Reel 4 – Germany, Nov 10, 1945 –May 4, 1946Call Number: D731.M254Publication Date: 1944-1946
- The Maple Leaf by Reel 5 – England, May 19, 1945 – Feb 23, 1946Call Number: D731.M252Publication Date: 1945-1946
- Daily Report, Foreign Radio Broadcasts by Summaries of radio broadcasts from other countries.Call Number: D839 .U635Publication Date: 1947-1952
The following news sources are available through the Boston Public Library's subscription to Ancestry Library Edition.
Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Europe, Mediterranean, and North Africa Editions, 1942-1964 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2007.
Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Pacific Editions, 1945-1963 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2007.
WWII United News Newsreels, 1942-1946 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2007.
WWII United News Newsreels, 1942-1946 (Free) [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2007.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowProvided by ProQuest and MyFamily.com, this genealogical collection covers U.S. and the U.K. census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. It contains more than 4,000 databases, 1.5 billion names, as well as over 1,000 historical maps. Coverage:1300-present
No remote access.