History of the McKim Building: Today
The McKim Building Today
The McKim Building continues to serve the public in the 21st century.
The building serves as the main repository of the Research and Rare Books collections of the Boston Public Library. Currently, the City of Boston has funded a $15.7M capital project to perform a full renovation, including extensive environmental and mechanical improvements to the Library’s Rare Books & Manuscripts Department.
The renovation includes improvements to the special collections reading room, lobby, collection storage areas, staff spaces, and conservation lab to ensure the long-term preservation of the library’s exceptional rare book and manuscript collections. This project is a collaboration between the Boston Public Library and the Public Facilities Department, under the leadership of Mayor Martin J. Walsh, and the firm Finegold Alexander Architects. Project highlights include:
- Convenient, direct public access to the department from a centrally-located elevator in the Boylston Street building
- Welcoming visitor’s entrance featuring museum-quality gallery space to showcase treasures from the library’s special collections
- New reading room facilities to serve researchers across all special collections departments
- Dedicated classroom space for educational programs and small group visits
- State-of-the art building systems for environmental control, security, & fire suppression
- Improvement of special collections storage systems and enhanced capacity
- Renovated and enhanced conservation facilities and staff workspaces
The project is scheduled to be completed in late 2021.
The Friends of the Boston Public Library conduct daily tours introducing library visitors to the art and architecture of the McKim building as well as other parts of the library. After their tour, patrons can relax in the Courtyard Tea Room and the Map Room Tea Lounge, on the ground floor. Space in the building can also be rented for weddings and other functions.