Health Information: Mobile Health Information
Resources for understanding health conditions and accessing health care
Regulation of Mobile Apps
Regulation of Mobile Apps
As with any medical information source, practice caution when consuming information from mobile apps and do not act on any information without the advice of a health care provider. The FDA's page on Mobile Medical Applications provides specific information on how mobile medical apps are (and are not) subject to regulation.
Mobile Health: Research
- PubMed Mobile
Type: Mobile Website
PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. - PubMed for Handhelds
Type: Mobile Website, App for iOS and Android
Features multiple ways to search PubMed/MEDLINE. Includes PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome); askMEDLINE, a free-text, natural language search; and Concensus Abstracts. iOS app includes BabelMeSH which has search options in 13 languages.
Mobile Health: Mental Health
- SAMHSA
Type: Mobile website only
Find local treatment centers, access the National Suicide Prevention Helpline, and learn more about various mental health and substance use topics for youth, adults, and loved ones.
Mobile Health: Health Information
- AIDSinfo
Type: Mobile website
Federally approved by NIH. Offers HIV/AIDS treatment and research information optimized for mobile devices and are offered free of charge. Apps include HIV/AIDS Guidelines, Drug Database and Glossary. - CDC Travelers' Health
Type: App for IOS and Android
The CDC offers authoritative travel apps to plan for safe and healthy travel, including TravWell and Can I Eat That? - MedlinePlus
Type: Mobile website only
Health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news. Available in English and Spanish. - WebMD
Type: Mobile website and app for IOS and Android.
Research conditions, check your symptoms with our Symptom Checker, access drug and treatment information, get first aid essentials, check local health listings, and find the latest health news on the go, from the most trusted brand in health information.
Mobile Health: Women & Family Health
- CDC's Milestone Tracker
Type: App for IOS and Android only
Track your child’s milestones from age 2 months to 5 years with CDC’s easy-to-use illustrated checklists; get tips from CDC for encouraging your child’s development; and find out what to do if you are ever concerned about how your child is developing. - LactMed
Type: Mobile website only
Find information about maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider.
Mobile Health: Medications & Supplements
- DailyMed
Type: Mobile Website only
Provides drug information including FDA labels and tablet ID tool, from the National Library of Medicine. - National Library of Medicine's Drug Information Portal
Type: Mobile Website only
Connects to all of the National Library of Medicine’s database listings for medications. - HerbList
Type: App for IOS and Andriod
NCCIH's Herblist HerbList gives you fast, free access to science-based summaries on more than 50 popular herbs, such as aloe, chamomile, ginger, and turmeric
Mobile Health: Emergency
- First Aid: American Red Cross
Type: App for IOS and Android. Available in English & Spanish.
Get instant access to information on handling the most common first aid emergencies. Free lifesaving first aid instruction and disaster preparedness information, including videos, interactive quizzes and simple step-by-step advice. - Red Cross Emergency
Type: App for IOS and Android. Available in English and Spanish.
This all-inclusive app lets you monitor more than 35 different severe weather and emergency alerts, to help keep you and your loved ones safe.
